By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - What makes a good fighting game?

Killer Instinct for Xbox One

So long story short, I'm a game developer that has never really got into fighting games. I'm played the smashes, that 3D tom and jerry fighter, and playstation all stars. The simple mechanics made me enjoy them. I've attempted Mortal Kombat and Street fighter, but the mechanics never clicked with me. Now I'm stuck with a problem here: I'm making a fighting game!

Help me out guys! Why do you enjoy these overly complex games?!?!

Around the Network

A good fighting game is complex and easy to pick up. Also have personality with the style of the game. make that shit competitive too. If this makes sense.

We like them because they are overly complex. A good fighting game is like a game of chess.

Also fighting games are not for everyone that includes game developers and game players.

My 3ds friendcode: 5413-0232-9676 (G-cyber)

Depends I guess... A game like Street Fighter is very complex, balanced but hard to compete online unless you are really dedicated...

VS

A game like Super Smash Bros is complex (but not nearly as much as SF) but easy to pick up and play for anyone and its really fun and online isn't very competitive

The interesting thing is obviously... Even though SF is a "true" fighting game, I believe Smash Bros has a bigger fanbase just because its so much more fun for a lot more people

PC Specs: CPU: 7800X3D || GPU: Strix 4090 || RAM: 32GB DDR5 6000 || Main SSD: WD 2TB SN850

It's a very simple formula: Simple and fun combo system, smooth gameplay and unique character design.