By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Xbox One vs. PS4 Graphics Showdown: The Rematch

drkohler said:
g911turbo said:
Ssliasil said:
There is so much wrong with this post that I would have to rewrite the entire thing for you in order to make all the needed corrections. And quite frankly, i don't particularly want to do that.

I was thinking the same thing.

I particularly liked the "I have a computer science degree and I am a software engineer" and then shows his memory throughput graphics - which puts him instantly into the "complete moron" cathegory.

This user said it best:

Timorous 

Man are you wrong so lets go through it bit by bit.

I agree with Item 1 and Item 2 seems up in the air so solid conclusions are hard to draw, ultimately I would call both these items the same.

Item 3 is wrong on several fronts though so lets go through them.

1) DDR3 is faster than GDDR5 in some circumstances. Provided you are talking about memory latency here then I have to disagree with this statement. The GDDR5 memory latency is no worse and possible better than DDR3 latency.

Page 51 for DDR3 latency http://www.hynix.com/datasheet... - ACT to ACT is 45ns.

Page 133 for GDDR5 latency http://www.hynix.com/datasheet... - ACT to ACT is 40ns.

2) You cannot just add together the bandwidth like that because the job of the DDR3 and the move engines is to keep data flowing to the ESRAM as much as possible. That means the GPU will be communicating with the ESRAM most of the time but not all of the time. The true memory bandwidth will vary frame to frame depending on if the data is available in the ESRAM. We have no way of knowing what this will average out to but I doubt it will be much less than the PS4.