By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - PC Discussion - Should I get the nVidia GTX 560 ti?

I upgraded to a gtx 460 from dual 7950gts to and didn't see a lot of improvement until I upgraded my cpu from a dual core 2.4ghz amd to a quad core amd oc'd to 4.4ghz. Now I can play anything on max settings at 1080p with framerates of 50fps to 110fps depending on game.

WII Code: 1732 3363 1704 6441

Around the Network
Shinobi-san said:
esssam said:
AndrewWK said:
You should buy Radeon HD 6950 is cheaper and needs less power, and is as good as the nvidia if not a bit better.

Is the difference in price minor?? because if it is, I may buy the nVidia due to the Physx feature. Are the rest of my PC specs enough to play most of today's games at high settings?

Sorry Im a bit of a noob here :b

Hi Esssam

The gtx560ti is a great card, and will definately meet your needs for high settings and 1440 x 900 resolutions in most newer games.

The only issue that you need to consider is the rest of your components and how they will perform with your new gpu. You seem to be only upgrading the gpu...which might be a mistake. Your current cpu was good back its time, but currently it will bottleneck your gtx560ti quite badly. The gtx560ti and Nvidia cards in general are more reliant on cpu power compared to radeon cards.

So you have some options here:

1. You should hold off the upgrade until you can atleast afford to get a new cpu and motherboard. This way you will be sure that you are getting every once of power out of all your new parts.

2. Buy the card now and upgrade the other parts later. While your cpu will bottleneck your gpu and quite heavily at that, it should still perform better than your current card. Given that your playing resolutions are not full hd and you plan to play games on high settings...this might be enough for you. I bolded might because it really is a gamble.