By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Home-schooling: Your opinion?

I was home schooled, and I did find it hard to mix with people my own age (hence games replacing my friends lol) But now am completely fine, and feel like I have turned out to be a better person because of it!

Around the Network
theprof00 said:
mrstickball said:
theprof00 said:
mrstickball said:
deskpro2k3 said:
those kids will have no friends or learn how to make friends. i feel sorry for them.

I was homeschooled my entire life. I have quite a few friends. My wife, who was public schooled, was more socially inept than I was, and was (and still kinda is) afraid to stand up and give presentations. Comparatively, I do it all the time with no problems, and never have.

Of those I graduated with, most of them are very social. One of my classmates entertains thousands of people as a piano player on a cruise ship - and was rated the #1 musician among cruise lines because of his social interaction with the patrons. So that argument is really a myth. Can it happen? Sure, but just as often as it does in public school.

FWIW, I really enjoyed my ~10 years in home schooling. I had a lot more freedom to do what I wanted, because I spent a lot less time in class than my peers (about 3.5hrs to 8hrs between all that is involved with public schooling). The cost to home school is a fraction of public school. Most of the costs are in the fact that the government screws over homeschoolers by not providing anything for them, while $10,000 is spent per student via public school.

If you have any legitimate questions about homeschooling, I'd be glad to answer them.

?