By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Appreciate help in deciding what to possibly study at university.

I was a Psychology major at undergrad, and while I really enjoyed it, a Bachelor degree in Psychology is not going to give you strong job prospects by itself. If you decide you want to major in Psychology as an undergrad, you need to pretty much go ahead and commit to going to graduate school in something. If you are willing to go to school beyond a Bachelors, a Psychology undergrad can be a good choice, because you can go on to a variety of different graduate degree programs from there. I know people who went on to get MBAs, went to medical school, law school, social work, counseling, or went further with Psychology to become researchers or clinical psychologists, etc.

As far as what being a clinical psychologist is like (I'm not a clinical psychologist, but did take several clinical psychology classes) - professors always warned us that most Clinical Psychologists do not do full time therapy. Therapy is mixed in with research and consulting. If you are only interested in being a therapist, there are faster and cheaper alternatives to get those credentials. There is a lot of research involved in being a Clinical Psychologist (as there is for any PhD program), so you will need to take quite a bit of statistics and research methods/design.

But I don't know of a single person from undergrad who only had a Psychology degree and now has a full-time job (2-3 years removed from graduating).

Around the Network

My best friend has a masters degree in history and he can't find a relevant job. He works occasional shifts at a nearby castle, but spends the rest of his time hunting down jobs. There's just not a lot of employment opportunities in that area right now. It's difficult to get into.