By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sales Discussion - Wii is probably an epidemic!

seems like it's not getting easier, but harder to find a wii.   i follow xp_bargains (where i located my wii) so that i can pick up a wii for a friend and i thought it'll get easier after february (when i got mine).  but no, seems like the listings are selling out faster than ever.

this can be easily explained... the interest in wii is a function of many, one of which is the "trying is believing".  if the conversion rate of "trying is believing" is big enough, the amount of interest generated will exceed the amount of interest reduced (those who already bought one).  supply is not increasing by much, and so the end result is that the market is MORE supply contrained.

this is indeed an interesting phenomenon.  i'm not an expert on this, but it does remind me of spread of disease modeling (and other analogous systems).  to put it simply, if the disease infection rate surpasses a critical value, the disease becomes an epidemic.  in social systems it's more complicated, but the basic idea is the same.

So, i would hypothesize that the Wii is an epidemic!  The same applies to the DS.  Actually the DS is more likely to be an epidemic... after it made a mutation to DS Lite and evolving Brain Age and Nintendog genes along the way.

(ps3 and 360 fanboys are immune to this epidemic, so if nintendo has an evil plan to take over the world, they can fight back) 

the Wii is an epidemic.

Around the Network
Lingyis said:

seems like it's not getting easier, but harder to find a wii. i follow xp_bargains (where i located my wii) so that i can pick up a wii for a friend and i thought it'll get easier after february (when i got mine). but no, seems like the listings are selling out faster than ever.