By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Microsoft Discussion - HD DVD drive in Xbox

Do you guys think the console/format war would have turned out differently if Microsoft had chosen to make their HD DVD drive built into the 360, like Blu Ray was built into PS3? I think it would have.

I'm pretty sure Americans buy the most DVDs right? (I don't have a source on that so I'm assuming). Nobody wants to spend an extra $150 on a separate drive, so if the HD Drive was built in that's 16 million extra HD DVD players in use. If people already have the drive they're more inclined to actually buy the HD movies, so HD DVD sales would have blown Blu Ray's away. Also, with the drive built in the 360 might have been more appealing to potential buyers and 360 games would use HD DVD discs which store more information.

So what do you guys think?

I'm a filmmaker, writer, and gamer. Add me on Xbox Live or message me!

XBL Gamertag: StraitupBeastin

Around the Network

The situation would certainly be very different but adoption of the 360 may have been lower due to the higher price.

X-box360 -2005 without HDDVD,with HDDVD 2006/7 ,PS3 with BD 2006

The 360 would've been royally fucked if this had happen. It would've released in Spring of '06 instead of Nov. of '05, and would've been more expensive. This would've taken away the consoles 1 year/9 mil. install base advantage, and many of it's defacto exclusives (Lost Planet, Dead Rising) would have been multiplat ps3/360.

Every reason the 360 is so far ahead of the ps3 right now - 1 year headstart, larger game library, cheaper price, time to get XBL sorted out - would've been removed. The 360 would've had a smaller install base when the ps3 launched, and the ps3 would probably have been outselling the 360 by a lot from launch on.