By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - How much maths is involved in Computer programming?

I am gonna start learning computer science but am a bit weak at Maths.

Whats types of maths is required and for what type of programs?

I mainly want to develop applications and services

Around the Network

Nothing very serious.

Only Algebra, Analysis and Numerics.

Any message from Faxanadu is written in good faith but shall neither be binding nor construed as constituting a commitment by Faxanadu except where provided for in a written agreement signed by an authorized representative of Faxanadu. This message is intended for the use of the forum members only.

The views expressed here may be personal and/or offensive and are not necessarily the views of Faxanadu.

Technically every line of code is a form of discrete math :D.

I'm a computer programmer and I make software for bancs...and I don't need anything more than basic maths for it.
Don't know how it'd look like if I would work on technically more difficult things like graphics, AI, or such...guess then would math become more important. But you certainly DON'T have to be a genius to become a programmer.

Game of the year 2017 so far:

5. Resident Evil VII
4. Mario Kart 8 Deluxe
3. Uncharted: The Lost Legacy
2. Horizon Zero Dawn
1. Super Mario Odyssey

Faxanadu said:
Nothing very serious.

Wrong. You will want to be good at Calculus, Linear Algebra (much more complicated than normal algebra, don't let it fool you), Discrete, and depending on what you're doing, Physics classes could be helpful.

Unless you think those are all easy, but at my university they were insanely difficult :S

And as ghettolamour pointed out, it really depends on WHAT you will be programming and to what level. I'm focusing more on software engineering, AI, maybe graphical items in the future, etc.

Around the Network
nightsurge said:
Faxanadu said:
Nothing very serious.