By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Anonymous Explains why they hacked Ps3. April 21/22 2011

NoCtiS_NoX said:
pitzy272 said:
NoCtiS_NoX said:

read this on gaf and credit to: brucewaynegretzky

And  think he have great points.

Ok reading this thread is making my head explode. It's particularly painful because I'm studying for a copyright final right now. People are sitting here screaming "consumer rights" at the top of their lungs. Sony was exercising part of their copyright over the PS3 OS. The point here is NOT that Sony "owns" your PS3. The point is that as the "authors" of the system they are entitled to specific rights. The purpose of these rights is to create a system where people are incentivized to create new things. If people were allowed to create copies, hack their systems, etc. it would not be worth it for companies like Sony or Microsoft to create new systems because piracy would steal from their profits. In this particular case the right Sony was exercising was the right to prevent people from circumventing their security measures in order to allow people to create unlawful copies. Sony does not claim to "own" any part of your PS3. They do however, have certain rights in dictating how you use it. Artists have some similar rights over their works, even after they've been sold. There are certain uses protected, but you are NOT allowed to distribute the types of things GeoHot did. You can't circumvent security measures. It's an economic incentive. Another software example: If you're a small game developer why would you ever create a PC game with no DRM? The reason is because it'll be copied in 2 seconds and you would never make a dime. This is why the security measures are protected. So go ahead, keep playing with your systems. The point here is that Sony can prevent certain uses in order to maintain a system where it makes sense for them to make new consoles.