By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Piracy, which is worse?

Piracy, which is worse?

Video Games 33 30.84%

Movies 16 14.95%

Music 43 40.19%

Softwares 15 14.02%

Total:107

Which do you think is worse?

Around the Network

Film.

Why? Because I work in the industry!

Games have it bad, but only in PC games really. There is piracy on the consoles, but nowhere near as bad as the PC.

I don't know if music or film is worse, I assume they're both pretty bad, but I'm pretty sure both are worse off in terms of piracy than games.

@twesterm at least film has multiple markets outside of the box office (tv distribution, DVD/BR, rentals, hell even games themselves! etc) whereas most games have just the physical product and rentals to fall back on. Thought this is changing due to DLC and paid subscriptions.

Film definitely. My friend, her family is so poor but you wouldn't believe it with all the movies they have that their dad pirates.

And they have a giant HDTV. Not sure how big it is but damn can barely make rent but can afford a fucking huge TV.

Around the Network

I'm pretty sure music is the biggest. Everyone pirates music.

Why aren't there "all of the above" and "none of the above" options?

Personally I think all of those industries can structure themselves to produce their revenue in ways that effectively eliminates the economic viability of piracy. But they are all so invested in the traditional view of copyright that they allow the piracy monster to flourish and grow.

The easiest industries to reform in this respect are music and software (ever seen a pirated copy of Firefox or OpenOffice?) but once those are freed from the things that allow piracy to thrive the movie and game industries can be too.

“The fundamental cause of the trouble is that in the modern world the stupid are cocksure while the intelligent are full of doubt.” - Bertrand Russell