By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
cannonballZ said:
S.Peelman said:

That's not entirely what it says though.

Your system gets only locked if they catch you being a pirate or hacking and modding your system after this update is done. You could decline just fine, but then your system won't get updated, at the price of you being unable to play games or use features that need your system to be updated. Long story short, if you mistakenly press 'decline', you're not suddenly stuck with a dead brick.


But the article is saying that is exactly what is happening. 

Read the link, gamnesia.com

I glanced through it, and the article makes much ado about nothing.

"After WiiU System is updated (..) any (..) unauthorized modification (..) renders the system permanently unplayable." means exactly that. Nowhere does that imply your system will get blocked solely by declining this agreement like the title says, but rather when you engage in illegal activities with the hardware.

You think your system will turn to black immediately after pressing 'decline'? Of course not. What if you did that by accident? You'll instead get the chance to agree later on, althewhile certain features will not work because they needed the updates.

In Europe Nintendo would have a hard time doing that anyway, blocking your system just for declining, because it would probably be illegal for them to do so, and EULA's are lawfully extremely shaky in the first place.

@ka-pi: What does this anti-piracy act have to do with DRM?

EDIT: watched the video, apparently all you can do is click 'agree' or do nothing. I'll say that's weird. I guess that's why I haven't seen it like this on my own WiiU, that wouldn't fly here.