By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - PC Discussion - Switched to Linux, need help

I have xFree86-Mesa-libGL that I need to install in order to install my graphics drivers, apparently.

At least, ATI's multiple guides tell me so.

And I still can't figure out how to install the dang drivers themselves.

SW-5120-1900-6153

Around the Network
thetonestarr said:

Some of the files I have to use are only available in .RPM format. I HAVE to figure out how to use them.

Anyhow, I couldn't find Envy NG, but in the process of looking for it, I learned about repositories and synaptic package management. And I've got most of the programs above installed now.

Told you guys I'm a noob.

Ubuntu is debian variant. RPM are for red hatted ppl. You can always get sources and make debian packets by yourself. That way you won't mess up you package manager and you can uninstall/install packages you have made very easily. Heres instructions how to do it:

http://www.linux.com/articles/60383

That's what I meant to say I was working on doing.

Anyhow, I figured out how to install my drivers. http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7193 did the trick

SW-5120-1900-6153

Do not use the Mesa drivers. They suck.

For ease of use, use the Synaptic Packet manager to install the following.

Search for fglrx
Select fglrx-amdcccle
Select xorg-driver-fglrx
Click Apply

Open Administration > Hardware Drivers.
Activate the ATi/AMD proprietary FGLRX graphics driver.

Best Radeon drivers you can get for Ubuntu and they're straight from ATi/AMD.

The rEVOLution is not being televised

If you are planning on building any sources yourself make sure you have all the gcc/g++ libs installed through the package manager. I would also say to learn to use the terminal, just as easy as using dos and the best way to get your head around the system architechture as a whole.

Around the Network
thetonestarr said: