By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Sony: Shoddy machines won't grow the market

Jasper may of course though the chance of RROD for it should be quite low, although reading about your luck on electronics I wouldn't be surprised if the Valhalla (ducktaping both chips together) RRODed on you.

I'm not experienced on how Read Disc Errors work but in general I'm guessing that's due to the laser crapping out. Which is always a possibility on any console, if you're worried than don't play DVDs on it. They stress the laser more than a game, if you're waiting for SO4 and are worried about hardware reliability, than you might as well wait a little bit for the new chip that might come next year or for Jasper results to surface.

-=Dew the disco dancing fo da Unco Graham=-

Around the Network
axumblade said:
Sony really shouldn't be making cheap shots. I love the PS3 hardware but I am starting to get more and more annoyed by their arrogance.

As much as I hate David Reeves and Aaron Greenberg, Nintendo is way worse than either of them. I mean, they rarely even acknowledge Sony or Microsoft's existance, let alone talk trash about them. What a bunch of stuck up pricks. You'd almost think they were outselling their combined competition 2:1 or something...

d21lewis said:
Sigh.

Oh, Sony. Your cheap shots are what keep our relationship spicy after all these years!

See, the thread title makes it seem like Sony was making the factual claim that shit hardware won't/can't grow the market.  But it can, and it has.

In the actual quote from Sony they were just saying that they didn't want to sell at all costs including putting out shoddy hardware.  And the PS3 is very high quality hardware, so it's perfectly consistent.

badgenome said:
axumblade said:
Sony really shouldn't be making cheap shots. I love the PS3 hardware but I am starting to get more and more annoyed by their arrogance.