By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - How long do you like your games?

Given I've purchased 35+ games this year and finished less than 5 of them, I probably should be saying the shorter the better, but personally, somewhere between 8-12 hours is usually pretty good.

Around the Network

Being a student, I want the most bang for my buck I can get.

I didnt mind paying the full Australian price for Brawl, kart because I have 150+ hours on brawl and 200+ hours on kart

If a game has no multiplayer, and is selling at full price, the single player would need to keep me entertained for 30 hours or more (if it's entertaining enough for multiple playthroughs then that counts towards the time)

I don't buy games that last less than 8 hours. I like my games to last from 10 to 20 hours, anything more than that I lost interest BUT from time to time I play a RPG that last as much as 60 hours, but that's an exception to the rule.

scottie said:
Being a student, I want the most bang for my buck I can get.

I didnt mind paying the full Australian price for Brawl, kart because I have 150+ hours on brawl and 200+ hours on kart

If a game has no multiplayer, and is selling at full price, the single player would need to keep me entertained for 30 hours or more (if it's entertaining enough for multiple playthroughs then that counts towards the time)

This. If the game is entertaining for only a short period of time, I don't see the need to buy it - I may as well rent (or borrow from a friend).

The exceptionally good, short single player games often have good replayability. Uncharted is a good example (though I don't even own it).

For an Action/Adventure game, Shooter Ten hours is really good. A shooter can be 8 hours and be okay though.

For RPGs, they need to be above 40 hours.

Generally I play through shooters once, then spend most time in multi-player, and play through Action/Adventure games 2-3 times.