By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - wii version of tomb raider underworld has a glitch. a MASSIVE glitch

El Duderino said:

^^ Again I´m not a programmer... but if you make a 3D enviorment somthing like a Lever that triggers and action is ether there or it is not... what kind of situation could make it dissapear ??? There should be no variables there... right ???

While it is true that program outcomes are entirely logical (ignoring faulty hardware), the randomness is generated from the users actions. As an example (I'm not a games programmer, so this example might not actually ever be the case):

Lets say it is a sandbox game like GTA so there isn't any 'levels' persay but a world where objects are required to be loaded in and out of memory in realtime. So as the character moves around, if a new object appears within 300m of them, it will be loaded into memory, and if a 'unique' object (only one instant in 300m) goes out of range, it is unloaded.

Now the adventurous gamer comes along and explores every place in the game, and ends up in an uncommon situation. While every effort has been made to fit all objects in a 300m raidus of the gamer into memory, this one particular place ends up with too many objects. Now to stop the game from crashing, the programmers will have put a fail safe to not load the object into memory if there is no room left, even if it is entirely assumed this will *never* occur. The gamer now explores futher, and because the now 'missing' object is never reloaded, they comes across the place where the object should have been only to find the object not there.