By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sales Discussion - Movie execs worried about Blu-Ray

24% total in your estimation what is the remaining 76%?

I just came back from a short trip in Asia and VCD is still rather big over there, sold right next to the DVDs even the latest title like Hancock, Iron-man and those are not bruned internet download they are genuine official release.

Let's be honest Blue-ray is only for a small wealthy minority, it will be rather impossible to make the majority of the global market move away from DVD.

Around the Network

I started playing around on the internet about 14 years ago on my 14.4 modem and it is remarkable on how much it has evolved since then ...

About 10 years ago there was a debate as to whether MP3s were going to be the next mass market format or if SACD/DVD-A were going to dominate, and the basic arguments that are used against Digital Downloaded movies today were used against MP3 back then. What people never seem to take into consideration in these types of discussions is how much bandwith at a price level can increase in 36 months, and how one break-out product can really change the face of a competition. An example of a break-out product was the iPod because before it was released many/most people would burn their MP3 files to a CD to play in their old players, and the release (and popularity) of the iPod meant that people so no value in burning CDs anymore.