By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Microsoft Discussion - A shot in the dark but.....

De85 said:
After the kinds of revisions they made to the chipset the only thing they could reuse would be the case. Also, as Cueil pointed out they would then have to deal with the inevitable class action suit, and massive bad press. I think the MS execs have probably had enough bad press by now to not even consider something like that.

In theory I suppose they could desolder all the circuit elements, but the cost would be prohibitive so I'm about 100% certain they're not doing it.

I'm no computer expert so I'm not going to pretend I am but couldn't the hard-drive and disc drive still be used?  What about the motherboard?  Does cracked soldering completely destroy the motherboard and in retrospect does a comppletely destroyed motherboard damage the other componenets? Thanks:)

Around the Network

uhhh,,,,,I'm sorry but M$ wouldn't risk sucha risky thing

All hail the KING, Andrespetmonkey

Three6T said:
De85 said:
After the kinds of revisions they made to the chipset the only thing they could reuse would be the case. Also, as Cueil pointed out they would then have to deal with the inevitable class action suit, and massive bad press. I think the MS execs have probably had enough bad press by now to not even consider something like that.

In theory I suppose they could desolder all the circuit elements, but the cost would be prohibitive so I'm about 100% certain they're not doing it.

I'm no computer expert so I'm not going to pretend I am but couldn't the hard-drive and disc drive still be used?  What about the motherboard?  Does cracked soldering completely destroy the motherboard and in retrospect does a comppletely destroyed motherboard damage the other componenets? Thanks:)

people dont send their hard drives in. and they have new disk drives as well.

"I like my steaks how i like my women.  Bloody and all over my face"