By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Any Wii games you want to see on PS360?

Super Mario Galaxy and Brawl. That is all.

Around the Network
sc94597 said:
bardicverse said:
sc94597 said:
bardicverse said:
sc94597 said:
bardicverse said:
sc94597 said:
@PSwii60 Zelda isn't an rpg, it's an Action-Adventure.

Technically, Zelda is an Adventure RPG, or straight Adventure. Action Adventure is more like Tomb Raider

Not really. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metroidvania#Sub-genres

Don't quote a source that is editable by any person with internet access. As a game developer, I can tell you that the Zelda series is NOT considered action adventure. By Miyamoto himself, he calls them an adventure series. Action Adventure is much faster paced than Zelda games are, and often with less focus on story.

Link to where miyamoto refers to it as an adventure game? Also an adventure game has no action at all. Examples of these are Zack and Wiki, Myst, and Sam & Max. Also here are some that game siteslabel it as action adventure .

http://cheats.ign.com/objects/837/837593.html

http://www.gamespot.com/nes/adventure/legendofzelda/index.html?tag=result;title;8

Its on an audio session of GDC conference 2006. If you care to purchase it, you can do so over at gamasutra.com. To further the point, the wiki link listed the Atari game "Adventure" as action adventure, which it is not, it is listed by atari as an adventure game. Dont get "point and click adventures" confused with adventure games, as they are a subgenre of the adventure genre.

Action adventure games tend to be more fast paced, Zelda games are way too slow and explorative to be an action-rpg. Tom Clancy games are a better model of action adventure

At the end of the day, its an endless debate, but in the eyes of developers, the Zelda series isn't what we consider an action-adventure.