By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Why don't more games support mouse and keyboard on the PS3?

What seems like all the time on these forums, I constantly read about the Wii's superior controls for any type of first person shooter, and while I haven't played an FPS on the Wii, I could probably agree that it's better than dual analog, NOT better however, than traditional mouse controls mouse and keyboard.

There have been a ton of video's out about random peripherals the PS3 supports, from bluetooth keyboards, mice, headsets, to usb tablets, camera's, IR mice and keyboards, etc etc. Now I'm no programming genius or anything, but aren't many of the mulit-plat titles designed to run on PC anyway? Why is it not an option for the PS3? Unreal Tournament 3 seemed to have no issue what-so-ever supporting mouse and keyboard, and I can't really think of why any other game FPS or non couldn't support M&K. It seems like something the PS3 was well designed to handle, but no other devs really take advantage of.

So whats the deal? M&K support would instantly get rid of the control issues that many people have with dual analog, and it would make many genre's of games easily more playable, tower defense, RTS, FPS, some RPG's, dungeon crawlers, etc etc. And I could easily see it silencing some of the nay-sayer PC enthusiast, I mean yes, we don't have teh upgrayded hardwere that PC's havded, but it would be a very multi-purposed box, with numerious options for control. 

From 0 to KICKASS in .stupid seconds.

Around the Network

Because it would be too easy.

Also their consoles not PC's, they have a proprietary controller with functions keyboards don't have.

Rumble, Sixaxis and easy access dual analog.

I'm Unamerica and you can too.

The Official Huge Monster Hunter Thread: 

The Hunt Begins 4/20/2010 =D

I think that it would cause inbalances in online games if some had keyboard and mouse