By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - What issues are you facing with RDR2? HDR not working?

So I started playing RDR2 today on a PS4 Pro after an 80min install I got very excited and then i noticed something odd. On my bravia XE9305 everything seemed a bit off when it concerned the colors, brigthness, local dimming etc. This was after the HDR notification that popped up at boot of the game. After comparing non HDR and HDR setup beside better colors the black levels seem very bad and washed off. Even the black bars in cinematics look greyish and I feel there is some weird post processing happening as well.

When I turn off HDR and convert it by the TV then contrast and black is much better, even brightness and local dimming improves but the wider color range is missing and I notice that quite a bit.

The best HDR solution is when you can't fiddle with TV settings. Netflix Dobly Vision does this well. God of War, Gran Turismo, Spider Man, Uncharted 4, NBA 2K18 and many other games have much better HDR. This looks more like the HDR solution of Fifa which is bad as well. I hope it gets a fix or that they opt for Dolby Vision if they can't get HDR10 to work properly. 

Other than that the game is amazing, I love the details but expected more on image processing side for HDR. If there is a way to make this better please let me know. 

Stories unfolded with my home made rap songs. Feel free to listen here with lyrics: https://youtu.be/vyT9PbK5_T0

Around the Network

Black levels while using PSVR as a display were excellent (after turning the in game brightness setting all the way down) Of course no HDR and color banding due to 8 bit color. The bit I got to play on tv was during the day so black level was naturally compromised. I'll compare it when I get to use the tv later. I have the X900E or XE9005 in Europe.