By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Well this argument will never end then....because you have set a standard of hardcore RPG player that can only give you anecdotal evidence because you have to ask them how many RPG's and which one's they've played. So I guess it's impossible to disprove the idea that most Hardcore RPGers see FFVII as worse than general popular opinion, impossible to prove as well.

That said I understand your dislike of FFVII and I have no problem with people disliking the game....I just don't like being told that I'm an RPG noob simply because I happened to like FFVII, which I'm sure is not anyone's direct intention (hopefully).

Around the Network
Torillian said:
Well this argument will never end then....because you have set a standard of hardcore RPG player that can only give you anecdotal evidence because you have to ask them how many RPG's and which one's they've played. So I guess it's impossible to disprove the idea that most Hardcore RPGers see FFVII as worse than general popular opinion, impossible to prove as well.

That said I understand your dislike of FFVII and I have no problem with people disliking the game....I just don't like being told that I'm an RPG noob simply because I happened to like FFVII, which I'm sure is not anyone's direct intention (hopefully).

Nope, not at all. It's just a matter of knowing what makes a game and what it's changed, copied etc. Take a look at Dark Requiem's post for example.

FF7 did a lot of "dumbing down"... it also gets a lot of credit for being the "first" in some things when in reality it was just the "first" to implement them in a mainstream game.

It was also just the first truley mainstream RPG... which is really going to effect peoples opinions on it.