By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Reasons to Get WiiFit

I posted in another thread my reasons for my reasons to get WiiFit. I'll repost them here, reorganized a little bit. Analogy to Brain Age included.

Background: As a hardcore science researcher, I used to constantly make fun of games like Brain Age, dissing them as something only for people stuck in jobs of repetition and tedium (yes, elitist, I know, apologies). Especially when I see ads with people struggling to do addition and subtractions.

How I got Brain Age: A great friend (currently interviewing for professorship in tier-one universities) recomended it to me. I was surprised, but I respected his opinion and got a copy. I was surprised. With that experience in mind, here's my reasons for getting WiiFit:

1) It will include a diverse collection of training programs/exercises/mini games--there's certainly something there for everyone.

Brain Age analogy: Addition and Subtraction, obviously, is not something I need. However, memorization, is something I have neglected since high school (doing research places emphasis on reasoning and logic, not memorization). Brain Age gave me training in memorization that I have found helpful. I also realized by playing Brain Age that there are many other parts of my brain I have neglected.

Like Brain Age, do not expect to become that much "fitter" or "smarter" from playing these. The point is to get as much as you can out of these games. And remember, these are only games, after all.

2) Motivation

As we have seen in Wii rehab adminstered by doctors, playing a video game takes away a lot of the tedium in rehabilitation. Patients think they're playing a video game, but doctors look at it as rehab.