By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sales Discussion - Why Nintendo has been "slow" to increase production.

I think this is a big mistake on Nintendo behalf, they should imediately increase produsction of the Wii to sell more, simple as that.

100% Coritiba Foot Ball Club!

Around the Network

To quote myself: That was really deep-sighteed...

http://www.vgchartz.com/games/userreviewdisp.php?id=261

That is VGChartz LONGEST review. And it's NOT Cute Kitten DS

Ok, I know it's been stated over and over again here, even with pictures, but there is no "increase production" button.

I have some experience of industrial production in a vastly smaller scale, and even there the lead times are prohibitive. For example, let's consider some of the things it actually takes to manufacture a Wii:

-plastic casing, which is probably pressure cast and requires molds. You know, you can only produce so much casts with a set of molds. Now, the lead times for new aluminium molds (which I have experience of) are anything from 40 days to half a year. Before you can start production, you need test casts and there almost always are things that need to be revised, so even a simple thing like a plastic casing can easily have a lead time of 3 months before you can actually start mass production.

-circuit boards have far shorter lead times, as they require relatively little tooling work. Still, to start mass producing them takes weeks even if you're extremely lucky. And there can be unforeseen problems with the component suppliers which can cause delays. For example, I know for a fact that the EU legislation concerning hazardous materials has caused electronic component suppliers a lot of headache as they have had to change manufacturing methods and materials to ones that are often less suitable for the components, resulting in reduced quality and problems in the finished products.