By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - What's fueling the distrust for game journalists?

Veknoid_Outcast said:
adriane23 said:
Veknoid_Outcast said:
adriane23 said:
Veknoid_Outcast said:
adriane23 said:

If a critic puts aside his personal opinions to critique something, he's the definition of a critic.

If I didn't like FPS games and reviewed Halo 4, I can't be taken seriously if I bash it for being in first person. As a professional, I should only critique it for what it's trying to accomplish, and how it stacks up against its contemporaries in its genre.

That is entirely wrong. If a critic puts aside his personal opinions, he's no longer a critic. It's the job of a critic to operate in the space between audience and medium, interpreting the medium in an intelligent, lucid, and stylish way. By definition, a critic is a judge, and he must use his own standards and interpretations to judge the material at his disposal.

Without personal opinions, a critic is just an empty vessel, regurgitating to his audience only the facts of the medium. We read critical reviews because we want something more than facts and figures. We want to be entertained, we want to be educated, and we want the expert opinion of someone who understands the medium better than we do.

LMAO, wow man. I can't decide if this is hilarious or just sad. Maybe both. It sounds like you want someone to tell you what to believe. If that's what you want, I guess, but what you describe is sensationalistic journalism.

It's the truth. It's definitely not sensationalism. Nothing of what I said corresponds to sensationalism, which has more to do with the embellishment of relatively unimportant or irrelevant news.