By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - In strong need of story driven games! Give me some recommendations.

After finishing Nier, I've had a strong craving for another story driven game. The game doesn't have to look great, it doesn't even have to play that well, but my gaming needs are parched and I need to wet my thirs as fast as I can.

I started playing 3D Dot Game Heroes straight after playing Nier and even though the game is pretty and cool, I had to put it down and throw it into my backlog, because without a decent plot, it could only help by boring me to sleep.

I'm playing Darksiders now and the same thing has happened, cool game, but I don't care about it. 

So if anyone can recommend a good story driven game, please do and I'll be incredibly grateful. Nier, Yakuza 3, Bioshock 1 & 2, Alan Wake, Metro 2033, Dragon Age: Origins, Heavy Rain, Condemned, 999, Metal Gear Solid 4, Assassins Creed 2 & Brotherhood, The Darkness, F.E.A.R. 1 & 2 are just a few of the games I've enjoyed, so anything similar would be great.

Also, bad voice acting is a no go, I don't mean bad as in Heavy Rain bad, but I mean bad as in random generic JRPG developers little cousin bad. The game doesn't have to have voice acting, but if it doesn't, then the translation and dialogue must be top tier. If the game is atmospheric, then I can forgive it for any other flaws it might have.

I also have The Witcher installed and ready on my computer and I'm 4 hours in, but while I've found the game and the story interesting, the voice acting and animation is pretty bad and plus it's a PC game and that bugs me. If it gets better, then tell me why. STALKER: Shadow of Chernoybl is also installed, but the shooting is horrible, which slows or halts my ability to progress the interesting plot.