By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Unemployment rate goes back up in the U.S.

http://articles.latimes.com/2010/dec/04/business/la-fi-jobs-20101204 ---link. What's going on? The unemployment rate rose back up to %9.8 in Nov. I'm no economy expert but I'm concerned about what's going on. I think the news said,this is the 19th month of high unemployment,which is a record. So is this concerning to anybody? Are you unemployed and having a hard time finding a job? What are the answer's? The U.S. goverment is fighting about the bush tax cuts,but those obviously haven't worked. Again,I'm no expert on this,but the economy has to get better,eventually right?

Around the Network

You wanna here the scary part?  In November... RETAIL jobs went down.

They fired a bunch of people right before the buisest shopping season of the year.

Additionally, most of the jobs to counter the jobs lost?  Temporary positions.

As for having trouble finding a Job.   I've been working nothing but temp work since I moved to Las Vegas.

As for the tax cuts... you should consider the article more closely.  They mention how when they were forced to let people go they realized how some of them weren't really needed.

The same likely would be the case if the tax cuts expire.

You need to give buisnesses incentives to work here.

employers are hesitant to hire new employees after the recession?

There is no requirement for an economy to get better. History shows that empires rise and fall. And every empire assumes they are an exception. While I know people who live US and I hope sincerely that things turn around. I want to know that someone who has a better education than me is employed and at this time he is not :|

I also think the politicians falsify numbers and allow for readjustments later to hide the real impact.