By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

binary solo said:

Not true.

From the SEN website:

How to Deactivate a PlayStation®3 System

You can only deactivate your PlayStation®3 system from the PlayStation®Network by using your PS3™ system. You cannot deactivate it using a PSP (PlayStation®Portable) system or PC.

  1. On the XMB™ menu, go to PlayStation®Network and sign in to your PlayStation®Network account.
  2. Go to Account Management > System Activation > PS3™ System.
  3. Select the type of content you no longer want your PS3™ system to use.
  4. Highlight [Deactivate System] and press the X button. Your system is now deactivated.
  5. Highlight [OK] and press the X button.

For more information or assistance, please visit PlayStation® Support.

You can via web.

https://support.us.playstation.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2616/session/L2F2LzEvdGltZS8xMzgyMDAyNTEyL3NpZC9zeTdsTV9DbA%3D%3D