By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - What is the 360's failure rate? AKA is RROD still a big problem?

Tecmo said:
Does anyone know when the Jasper models will be officially released?

Nope! But based on evidence so far, the Falcon models were good but not brilliant in terms of reliability and the new(er) revisions of Falcon are better still. Seriously if you want the system you shouldn't worry.

Tease.

Around the Network

I am a manager in the industry, and I can tell you first hand the failure rate I have witnessed, even with the newest SKUs released, is near 40%. You may be lucky enough to not have your 360 die on you, about 60% have never failed. Some brand new systems die after 15 minutes out of the box. Microsoft does have a 3 year warranty to replace your unit with another refurbished unit within about 6-8 weeks after sending your broken unit to them, however this only covers the red ring issue, not other 360 failures that are just as common. Microsoft also does not warranty scratches and laser burns that the 360 commonly causes games to have. There is a class action lawsuit in California against Microsoft for selling lemon game consoles as new, presumably working, units.

u tell me from what i say, i know abt 6 ppl who own xbox 360's, what were the chances that all 6 of their 360's died....hol on! not jus once 3 times......... and i got a ps3 and they got a 360 around the same time. mynes is perfect and shiny while theirs is in the trash or with microsoft. 360 may have some great games but they need a great hardware to back it up. I want a 360 too but i don't trust them. with boxing day coming up and bestbuy bringing out better and better bundles i might just end up getting into the 3 yr trap O.O damn you gears 2.

Infinity said: