By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Interesting Lawyer Stuff

I've been reading this thread for months but never posted on it. I have thoughts, but first a few disclosures:

My background is that I'm an Attorney in the United States of America, and an investor. During times where I expect the stock market to fall, I typically analyze merger arbitrage plays and look for ones that appear, based on the available information to present an extremely favorable risk/reward payoff, and invest heavily in those. To determine the risk/reward I look at the premium that will be received if the deal goes through, the relevant contracts, the likely application of antitrust laws to the transaction, the fair valuation of the stock if a deal falls through, the public statements of the parties involved, and any other relevant factor specific to that transaction. I sold my broad based investments in early January 2022, in anticipation of the market collapse. I eventually threw that money into Twitter, and held it to the close of that transaction. Soon after that, I dumped the proceeds into Activision/Blizzard/King, where I still sit heavily invested. I don't believe the deal will close because I'm invested there, but I did invest there because I believed the deal would close. Actually, I am more skeptical that the deal will close now than I was when I invested. With those disclosures having been made, I have dedicated substantial thought to this transaction specifically, and to the merger process generally, and want to share some of my thoughts.

This deal will close or not, almost exclusively based on the decision of the CMA in the UK for three reasons, as follows:

1. The FTC's case has no legal merit, and Microsoft appears more than willing to spend the resources necessary to close over their objections, and fully litigate the matter if necessary, unless the issue is rendered moot by another antitrust authority blocking the transaction.